.223 vs. .223AI...advice?

Target07

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 13, 2007
Hattiesburg, MS
What is the difference in .223 and .223AI? What are the advantages/disadvantages etc. Do you have to purchase special brass to reload the .223 Ackley Improved? What all does the reloading entail? I keep hearing the term "fire forming"? Anyways, I am doing a build and I was originally going to go w/ a .223 chambering but have been considering .223AI. Just trying to figure out which way to go and what would be best for my particular applictation. It will be used for coyote hunting and punching paper...maybe some deer hunting. Also, I am new to reloading and have not handloaded before. I have several friends who have been doing it for a few years but I have not. So, w/ that said, would it be better to go w/ a standard .223 to learn how to reload? Any advis is appreciated.

Re: .223 vs. .223AI...advice?

223AI Pros: a 10% gain in velocity, which allows easier shooting of the heavier bullets at long ranges. I shoot the 75gr Amax. (to do this you will need at least an 8 twist barrel)
To fireform simply load up a stout 223 Rem load, put it in the chamber and pull the trigger. Done. Now your brass doesn't have to trimmed but every 5-6 firings.
when your in a pinch you can hunt using 223 Rem ammo, the brass will be fireformed when your done.

Cons: Can't shoot F-Class with a 223AI if you decide to take that up.
You have to buy a set of 223AI reloading dies, usually the 3 piece redding runs $115 or so.

You use the same brass as the 223Rem, it just has a sharper shoulder. Reloading is easier since you don't have to trim brass and bump shoulders very much.

As far as a deer load, I plan to run the 62gr Barnes TSX to hammer Oklahoma whitetails. (hopefully the velocity will be around 3350)

JCH,