270 vs 308?

Tikkad

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 3, 2010
Abilene texas
im new to this game and have a ton to learn so bare with me. but i currently have a Tikka t3 270. it shoots sub MOA. i would like to get into long range shooting. but i need to know if this gun will be sufficient. it seems like 308 is a lot more popular choice. reviewing ballistics charts the 270 appears to have flatter trajectory and bucks the wind decently the only thing is there is no match ammo for it.

so i guess my question is will this work? how much better is a 308?

Re: 270 vs 308?

I wouldn't say it's a matter of "better". There's just more information and probably more component options for .308 over .270. If .270 works for ya, use it. Develop a good load and you'll get a tad more range out of it than .308... But it does kick harder. I know... I'm a wimp!

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: oneshot onekill</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I wouldn't say it's a matter of "better". There's just more information and probably more component options for .308 over .270. If .270 works for ya, use it. Develop a good load and you'll get a tad more range out of it than .308... But it does kick harder. I know... I'm a wimp! </div></div>

a buddy of mine has a savage in 270. when we go shooting together and we try each others rifle, the recoil of the 270 is the same as my 308 and i was shooting 168 gr BTHP out of my 14lb rifle while hes shooting the 180 SP out of his 10lb rifle. im not sure if this is correct, but isnt the cartridge capacity of the 270 and the 308 similar?