• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

300 Win Mag Load Data H1000 220 SMK

Norseman1950

Private
Minuteman
Jul 10, 2008
Mountain West
I'm somewhat new to loading for the 300 win mag and I have some questions about the pressure signs I'm seeing. I'm loading on WCC 01 cases using Fed 215 M primers.

I don't seem to have any pressure signs such as extraction or sticky bolt problems but it seems that my average velocity peaked out when I went from 76.5 to 77.5. Since my av velocity isn't increasing am I getting close to my max or does this mean nothing?

Thanks.

75.5 H1000 AV 2787 Std Dev 19
76.5 H1000 AV 2839 Std Dev 18
77.5 H1000 AV 2840 Std Dev 16

Re: 300 Win Mag Load Data H1000 220 SMK

If the WCC cases are thicker than your standard 300WM cases (I think they are, but never measued), then you will reach pressure before you get to the "book" max. Typically, when you reach your max pressure, the velocity levels out, and doesn't yield an increase from the next charge up. With a full grain increase from 76.5 to 77.5, you should have seen a velocity increase. So, I think your pressure is there. Look for shiny spots on the case head (case stamping) from the ejector plunger, or around the edge of the rim on the case head. This will tell you if you have reached pressure. You can also measure the case web for increased expansion from case to case.

Thanks a lot for the reply. So based on the fact that I worked the load up at about 40 degrees should I keep to 76.5 and see how it goes this summer? I'm assuming on a 95 degree day the pressure will increase even though this seems to be a pretty stable powder when it comes to temperature.

For those who get excited by such things...

MK248 Mod1 Specifications