• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

.308 velocity question w/ different brass

Calihunter33

Private
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2014
Okay, so I'm pretty new to reloading (and to the forum) so this might be kind of a noob question, but I noticed something pretty weird the other day at the range. I normally reload with lapua brass and am getting velocities right around 2750. I wanted to load some more but all the lapua brass was already loaded, so I figured I'd just load up some Hornady brass I had lying around from when I had shot some of their factory match stuff. Went to the range and the velocities were consistently a full 350 FPS slower. I couldn't believe it. Everything was done the exact same: fire formed, neck sized, same charge, bullet etc. So my questions is if this is normal and why this would happen? I mean I know that different brass can get different velocities with the same charges, but 350 FPS seems like a lot... And I feel like jacking up the charge in the Hornady brass to get the same velocities as the Lapua would be sketchy as all hell.

What chronograph are you using, if it is one with sky screens I would blame lighting conditions. Take a magic marker and color the bullet tips tips black and try again. Also double check all of your work before you go adjusting charges. Also did you shoot this load on paper, was the POI the same?

Yes, it can happen. Different brand brass can have a different case capacity. The volume of the case is different and therefore the pressure will be different. The result is different velocity.