• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

6.5 CM Brass - Alpha vs Starline

D0ntTr3@d0nM3

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Supporter
May 5, 2024
Texas
Hi all. I am just getting started in my PRS journey and starting to acquire what I need for reloading. I have an MPA Matrix Pro-II 6.5 CM. Do any of you use Starline brass? I am trying to get a sense of its quality vs Alpha. Starline is about half the price of Alpha from what I can tell. For those who have used it or currently use it I am also curious as to its durability and how many reloads I can expect to get out of it vs the Alpha.

Thanks. I appreciate it.

Reactions: simonp
Hi all. I am just getting started in my PRS journey and starting to acquire what I need for reloading. I have an MPA Matrix Pro-II 6.5 CM. Do any of you use Starline brass? I am trying to get a sense of its quality vs Alpha. Starline is about half the price of Alpha from what I can tell. For those who have used it or currently use it I am also curious as to its durability and how many reloads I can expect to get out of it vs the Alpha.

Thanks. I appreciate it.

Starline brass is solid enough and wouldn't be a bad place to start. For reference, I started my reloading journey with Hornady and S&B brass. I've since moved to alpha, Lapua and peterson brass where possible.

I would recommend the buy once cry once of the alpha brass from the get go.

Same as everything in this hobby - invest as much as possible initially and it will save you $, time and frustration in the long run

I use the srp version of Starline 6.5 creed brass. I can’t comment as to a direct comparison to Alpha on this cartridge but I am very happy with the brass and the 4 reloads I have on it so far.