6.5 Creedmoor brass

n0glock

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jun 18, 2020
Starting to reload for my 6.5. I have been reloading for many years and the selection of different brands of brass is amaizing. I am thinking ordering Lapua small primer, I will be FL sizing a standard Forster die, (already have small pins) any reason to buy something else?

It’s a totality of issues thing. Hard to find components, ignition issues, primer piercing issues, etc. Large primers are more forgiving and idiot proof. And most people are not good enough reloaders to take advantage of the smaller SD potential.

But if you’re awesome and have a perfect rifle, then go for it.

Like what was mentioned, you want reloading components that are available. If you can find SRP then go for it. Otherwise, I recommend Peterson or Starline brass with large rifle primers.

It’s a totality of issues thing. Hard to find components, ignition issues, primer piercing issues, etc. Large primers are more forgiving and idiot proof. And most people are not good enough reloaders to take advantage of the smaller SD potential.

But if you’re awesome and have a perfect rifle, then go for it.

I'm curious with ignition issue - Is it affected by the smaller Lapua flash hole? Does the large primer Lapua suffer the same issues?

No it’s not the flash hole. In cold weather the small primer has trouble igniting certain powders. Many rifles hit primers off center due to a combination of loose chamber, bolt, firing pin raceway, etc. Then when you get close to max pressures you start piercing primers because the rifle isn’t built correctly.

It’s not worth the headache.

Lapua SRP is also a pain in the ass to get a decap die for. With that being said I'm using Lapua SRP and love it but I've had to Jimmy some shit together to have a decap die as a separate function. There may be a better die set up but I've been unable to find one.