• Frank's Lesson's Contest

We want to see your skills! Post a video between now and November 1st showing what you've learned from Frank's lessons and 3 people will be selected to win a free shirt. Good luck everyone!

Create a channel Learn more
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

6.5 Creedmoor in AR

Buckhammer

Private
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2019
Looking to put an AR-10 together in 6.5 Creedmoor. From what I have "read" on the net I will need to use a high pressure bolt.

Barrel will be 20" so wondering if I should go with a rifle length gas system or go with a +2.

Upper and BCG will be from Eisenach Arms.

What bolt is recommended and what are some other recommended upgrades/parts to make this a reliably functioning rifle?

Any buffer/buffer spring differences?

I have been building sub 6 pound AR308s since 2015. My latest came in at 3.9 pounds complete without scope. Currently building a 6.5 Creedmoor upper using a Xanthos receiver. Hoping to be around 5.5 pounds, my Xanthos lower complete is 15 ounces.

First of all NEVER build an AR308 without an adjustable gas block. Go with standard rifle gas length. Also no flash hider, use a good 2 chamber muzzle brake or a 3 chamber brake. I recommend a JP low drag spiral bolt ring.

For a barrel I recommend Faxon barrels, mine have been their 28.3 ounce 16" 308 barrel that has given me sub MOA using factory ammo @ 110 gr, 132 gr, 168 gr and 175 SMKs.

The barrel length doesn't really matter as much now as an 18 inch 5R will give the same velocity as a 20 inch 6 groove.

Reactions: bfoosh006
I second the opinion on the adjustable gas block. I would also go with a JP silent captured spring.

I built a 6.5 creedmoor upper for an AR10 lower. Rifle is about 8.5 lbs with out bipod, scope, and ammo. Rifle is a hammer with 18” barrel.

6.5CM will feed fine from a properly tuned firearm.