Advice--this is a long one.

okiehuntnfish

Private
Minuteman
Dec 15, 2009
Dallas, TX
I need some advice. I have some property that is OVERWHELMED with wild hogs. I need to thin them out as much as possible and allow the deer and turkey to recuperate. This is not for sport. This is for nuisance animal control. Hogs are active at night. I am looking at a three part killing system:
1) Gun
2) Silencer
3) NV sight
The purpose of this rifle is to kill as many hogs as possible. I don’t care about it looking good for pic’s or looking good at the range. Being useful is key.

1)Rifle: I am thinking a POF .308. I like the DPMS and Noveske, but neither have the built in gas plug to switch between silencer/non silencer shooting. Not sure how important that feature is. Does anyone here shoot any of these guns on a regular basis with a can? Advice?

2)Can: I have no experience with these. I want to make sure the one I get is as quiet and hassle free as possible and work well with the .308. Any experience shooting subsonic shells? Is there an advantage/disadvantage to sub-sonic shells in this hog killing scenario? I have been told I will need to manual cycle sub-sonic shells, this will slow down follow up shots.

3)Sight: I have limited experience with NV. From what I gather they are in 2 different configurations 1) stand alone NV scope 2) NV device that looks through a sight, like an EOTECH sight. It would be awesome if I could get something like a set of NV binoculars that I could walk around with and use them to see through the site on the gun. Any suggestions?

Anyone up for killing some hogs?

Re: Advice--this is a long one.