• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

ARs IN 6.8mm REMINGTON SPC

Edsel

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 9, 2013
IMG_3697.jpeg

What make / models would you recommend?

Presently have a 20” LWRCi R.E.P.R. in .308 Winchester which is grossly inaccurate for the money I paid.

Would’ve liked the SIX-8 A5 because it does look kewl, if not for anticipating the same issues above (“You don’t get it - it’s built as a 4 MOA combat rifle!”).

I’m not even sure which ones use proper 6.8mm SPC magazines.

Last edited:
I built my 6.8 with a 12” ARP barrel. I believe they have sold out to another company and I have no experience with their new barrels. My barrels shoots fantastic!

Reactions: 346ci and Edsel
I wouldn't go beyond 16" with the barrel. Do your own research, but that extra 2" will get you almost nothing. I've had a few, traded off a barret rec-7 to a member here, just didnt want it sitting unused in the closet.

Curious what you're going to use it for? It is spectacular on eastern whitetail, and I'm told it kills pigs just as well.

Reactions: 346ci and Edsel
Curious what you're going to use it for? It is spectacular on eastern whitetail, and I'm told it kills pigs just as well.

To be honest, no true intended purpose.

Can’t think of anything beyond paper - punching with a new caliber.

Just want something new that shoots well, I guess - and this one tickled my fancy.

They are 1-1.5 MOA (5 shots). I changed out the trigger to a Geissele SSA-E and it helped. Finding accurate factory ammo is difficult. I think hand loads would produce better results.