• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Barrel rifling

BoltGunner054

Private
Minuteman
Jul 17, 2023
Pennsylvania
Ordered a barrel and was asked 5 or 6 groove rifling. Going to sound stupid here but what is everyone shooting? Does it make that much of a difference? I’m far from a professional. Initial research claims bullet/jacket deformation with 6 groove. I watched the bartlein video and he says 5. Everything seems conflicting so looking for info from folks who use and know this stuff. Barrel is a 26” heavy varmint 1-8 twist chambered in 6.5 creedmoor. Thanks in advance.

It doesn’t matter. I used to shoot 4 groove and now 5 groove. I am the weakest link regardless of groove. Your twist matters far more as it needs to match the bullet weight to stabilize the spin. That said, anything Bryan Litz says is gospel.

It doesn’t matter. I used to shoot 4 groove and now 5 groove. I am the weakest link regardless of groove. Your twist matters far more as it needs to match the bullet weight to stabilize the spin. That said, anything Bryan Litz says is gospel.

I’ve shot dozens of 4-6 grooves and don’t see any difference in barrel performance or life. I find a good barrel is a good barrel.

Frank has said in a couple of threads that 5 groove barrels seem to disturb bullet jackets less.

We've worked with a couple of barrel MFG's and found the same trend with both 5R and 5-groove traditional rifling.