• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

brass

My Peterson shot better than Alpha on its very 1st firing with zero prep on both... that said I've used alpha for 2 years (6000+ rounds) and it's been great. Just started using Peterson.
forrest-gump-thats-all-i-have-to-say.gif

who makes the best brass peterson or alpha ?
Having use both brands, I like both brands and find both brands being very good. However, if I'm forced to choose between these two, and though I'm new to Alpha brass, I'd go with Alpha . . . because my Alpha brass is more consistent than my Peterson brass I have (e.g. more consistent neck wall thickness, more consistent case volume).

so why would you switch??
I didn't, 6mmGT is what I have been running the Alpha brass in and I started playing with a 6.5x47L again. To make it easier to keep my brass separate from my Lapua 25x47L brass I went with Peterson. At the time Alpha was out of stock in the quantity I wanted.

Peterson has been as consistent as Alpha in the loads I've used. Here is the first 10 through the rifle on day 1 stage 1 of the SAC Sizzler this past weekend.

Screenshot_20240727-185812_ShotView.jpg

Last edited:
Lapua, Alpha and Peterson are all good brass. But most shooters aren't good enough to take advantage (and that includes me) of whatever incremental accuracy they may provide you in most gun games. (there are exceptions like benchrest and F Class for example where the smallest group wins)

That's why I buy Starline brass and save money in calibers that they do offer. Yes, Starline requires a bit more work to prep than the big 3 above, but my time is free.

For example 6.5 Creedmoor SRP Brass:

Starline = $170. per 250 cases (0.68 each) and free shipping
Alpha Brass = $118.00 per 100 ($1.18 each) plus shipping