Gunsmithing building a clone HK PSG-1

tonysrep

Private
Minuteman
Oct 1, 2009
portand oregon
I thought I would share what it took me to build a PSG-1. This is my first build , I chose this rifle because:
#1 its rather rare with only 333 imported into the USA before they were banned from importation.
#2 The parts to do this project were pretty easy to come by and all us made.
#3 I already own a hk91 for reference.
#4 I think she’s one of the best looking rifles made, I always wanted one but I am too cheap to pay $10,000 for a rifle.

I started by reading every post I could find concerning the build process of a 91 based platform. Next I began purchasing all the parts needed to complete the build. I bought a barrel from rim county mtg, a trunion from bravo5, a trunion extension from igf,the cocking tube was built by jfk on the hkpro forums. The small parts like the mag latch componets and cocking tube parts were from rtg. The forend was purchased from hkparts.

I decided to roll a flat because I did not want to deal with removing the rear site base from a ptr receiver, plus the honor of saying I made that receiver. Next I read everything I could find concerning rolling the flat. I chose to use a jig designed by MR.BCH on weaponeer forums but made some modifications to the design so the flat would not move while in the bending process.
DSC_3921.jpg