Building a custom AICS AX 338 questions need help

wPAShooter1

Private
Minuteman
Dec 2, 2011
PA, USA
I am wanting to build a 338 LM on a AICS AX chassis and was wanting to use a Surgeon action and a 30 inch Lilja Barrel. Can anyone give me their input as to what they think on this setup. I am wating to shoot accuratly out to 1500 yards or further. I am very new to 1000+ yard shooting and i want to do this right the first time and get a really good setup to start. So please be kind and help me if you can. Thanks

Re: Building a custom AICS AX 338 questions need help

I like Lilja. I like the way they make the barrels and how good they are. My smith is the same person it has been for the past 3 years he works on my other rifles and has done some amazing work with them. He is the only one i trust to work on my rifles. And NO i will not be getting the AICS/AX from Sergeon i will be purchasing it from EuroOptics since i know the people there.

Lilja make a good barrel and one of the best for button pulled rifling. Some prefer cut rifling though as you can specify the height of the lands and grooves and also consider a gain twist which helps with torque when using 250g or 300g bullets. Bartlein probably make the best cut rifled barrels and have the best technology for a gain twist. They also use the very best steel but so do Lilja.

Specifying a barrel with a custom bore diameter and a gain twist is a bit "techy" for a first barrel for long range use and a Lilja 30 inch is a fine choice.