Case Life - How Many Uses?

Phil3

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2008
San Ramon, CA
I am new to reloading, and before I sink some $$$ into cases, what is an average case life in a production bolt action? Say Remington 700 stock action and barrel in 223 or 308. What about an AR semi-auto?

Phil

Re: Case Life - How Many Uses?

If you load for a bolt gun and use good brass, neck size you can get up to 10 and in some cases more but with good brass. That life span will decrease with hot loads and a semi auto.

Reloading procedure and the type of loads you are running determine the case life you are going to get. High pressure 'max' loads are going to shorten case life...over sizing (bumping the shoulder back too far) and working the brass excessively shortens case life. In cases with relatively low operating pressures combined with sufficiently lubricated sizing operations, some cases can last quite awhile.

Examples,
.45 acp 'target' loads, brass lasts just about forever.
.300WM 'max' loads, brass will hold for about 7 or 8 cycles.

The important thing is to be able to inspect a piece of brass and make a determination as to how much fatigue it has. Cracked necks, case head expansion, loose primer pockets, things like this mean the case is done. Any decent reloading manual is going to have a section on case inspection, you should definitely read and take notes.

And...a lot depends upon the differences between your dies and your chamber dimensions. If you have a tight chamber and dies that match....you might get, with practices as above, 20 or more loadings...using neck annealing. If you have a large factory chamber and tight dies...that might get you 3 or 4. Semi...much less. JMHO

and get annealed brass to start with. Winchester white box 147 grain ball ammo for 308 is very cheap ammo, but the brass is pretty decent and especially nice in that it's neck and shoulder are annealed.