Cholesterol and Atherosclerosis

IdealJoe

Private
Minuteman
  • Feb 16, 2017
    The other thread got taken over by anti-medicine howler monkeys and I think many here could benefit from some additional information. I tested high for cholesterol and since I don't trust doctors, or most anyone, I've been researching this topic for several months to make an informed decision about course of action for myself. The topic seems to be extremely complex and far from settled science. Some of my takeaways are:

The disease is largely genetic.
    Standard lipid panels tell little about your true risks.
    Most treatment protocols are using very dated understandings.
    "Good cholesterol", HDL, is largely irrelevant.
    "Bad cholesterol", LDL, is a small measurement of risk.
    Statins were a best treatment approach for a long time but lacked understanding.
    Anti PCSK9 inhibitors seem to be a very promising breakthrough and an alternative to statins.
    If you are genetically at high risk you better get on top of it at a young age long before symptoms.

Here is an article I came across today that does a good job at summarizing some of the latest understandings. https://www.msn.com/en-us/health/ot...1&cvid=b6eb6a7970a24495b61f92d71d4cd3ca&ei=35

Some of the most credible information I came across, (best I can tell), was from Dr. Peter Attia. https://peterattiamd.com/ He has a podcast on the subject of cholesterol that's like 7 hours long. For anyone that wants it explained in detail from the early history of Lipid research to some of the latest studies, I highly recommend it. It really educated me to the point I know my Doc doesn't have a good understanding on the subject and my health is in my own hands.