Grab yours

composites

michasco1

Howdy from iowa
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 26, 2024
iowa
I'm a PhD engineer (+ MD) and am thinking about starting a ballistics group. Not to much information given right now but looking at doing a couple of things

1. cubic Zirc ceramic composite projectiles (milled) - production of composite can be done on low scale
2. PEEK based cartridges (can utilize another engineering polymer)

Would love to talk to someone. Have been utilizing ABAQUS (FEA software) to determine modifiable porosity an orthogonal material orientation.

background ( I have a completed DOD composite manufacturing paper - just published) can give upon request, not ballistic oriented but a stress shielding application.

Just for discussion, what would a near diamond hard projectile do to a barrel? How many rounds would you say a standard steel rifle barrel be able to launch? Would the rifling be able to engrave this hard projectile? What about the gasses that produce the thrust...how would such a hard projectile seal against leakage? Or would this projectile have a sort of diamond core? And for what purpose...defeating armor?

• Haha
Reactions: 6.5SH
Uh, I don't get it.

It feels like you googled buzz words and dropped them in here to prove how smart you are.

Very hard projectiles means you'll need to sabot them to have any barrel life and pressure sealing.

I feel like you're an enthusiastic enginerd that wants to reinvent the wheel.
Just don't forget that the wheel only works because it's round...

just for discussion, what would a near diamond hard projectile do to a barrel? - the actual projectile would be like a sabot or impregnated into a softer compound like copper.