CZ 457 stock change question.

pepelefrog

Private
Minuteman
Aug 3, 2019
I recently bought a XLR Element stock for my CZ 457. On their website, it said the torque spec of the chassis for cz 457 is: Action Screws 65inch/ lbs. (https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0995/2330/files/XLR_Torque_Specs.pdf?4773220458823953227)

However, on CZ youtube video they said the torque is at 3.5Nm or 31in/lb:

What is the correct torque i should use? I am fairly new to firearms as a whole and i do not want to mess my gun up.

Thank you for your help.

If you are not too hasty, I suggest you try the best torque for the chassis and action combo by yourself.

Your action screws turn rate and lubrication effect this but what I have tested myself, torque does not matter at all when you go above slightly over 1Nm if you want them to stay in one piece and offer good accuracy. 1Nm means you have 22 lb weight putting these two parts together all the time.

So start at 2,5Nm (I have understood aluminum chassises like bigger torques) or where ever and start group testing every 1Nm to get some idea of good spot and then fine tune it.

Because your chassis is not bedded, any unleveled surface you have in the chassis and action will torque the action in not a good way, linearly to the torque force of the action screws. This will not become apparent with low torques but I expect even 2Nm will start to sligthly twist the action. It might not be bad for accuracy though. It is all about "internal vibrations". Unfortunately it does not make more sense than that.

More torque force does not mean better groups here necessarily, no need to max it out here.

This is all weird for a new shooter.
So here is my result, I have since pillar bedded the gun but this was my eye opener:
18 collated shots, 55yds, Lapua Biathlon.
I'd say the one on the right could be me but the results still speak for themselves.
Torqued with hand, maybe 2Nm:
Screenshot_20200104-140808_TargetScan.jpg