• #0001 Limited edition launch patch (only 200 available)

Grab a limited edition patch and use code AMERICA24 for 20% off all merch

Grab your patch

Full length sizing after that stretch!

Mysavageisaccurate

Private
Minuteman
Mar 9, 2024
Houston
Hi

I am a really newbie of reloading

I have a Lee challenger Single press

And Lee rifle die set for 6.5CM

Id like to do full length sizing

But I have a big issue.

First, by using digital caliper with Hornady Headspace kit, check the number for brass that once fired ( it was Hornady 140gr 6.5CM ELDM )

And make it zero. 0.0000

Lubricant applied on brass

And as instruction that i learned or from manual, fully stroked up the Ram to touch the bottom of Full length sizing die( this is the standard point as I call). Then, check the gap between Ram and FL sizing die, no gap between.

Little bit lower down the Ram, Turn the FL sizing die 1/3 turn to down and Lock the die with Lock ring. Gently but firmly, sizing the case,

And check the length?

0.0035-> it stretched.

Gave another 1/3 turn

0.0035 same

Gave 1 full turn from the standard point

0.0035 same

2 turn

Same 0.0035

4 turn 0.0035

How should i do? Lock ring does not go up more than 4 turn.

You mean the CBTO is not changing as you screw in the die? Post some pictures of die in the press. And the die and lock ring.
IMG_1858.jpeg
IMG_1862.jpeg
IMG_1863.jpeg
IMG_1864.jpeg
IMG_1865.jpeg
IMG_1866.jpeg
IMG_1860.jpeg

When you zeroed on a once fired brass that had not been sized, was your spent primer still in the case? If so, it is possible your spent primer might have some slight catering or sitting proud that it's giving you a long measurement. After sizing, which is also decapping, you will now get a correct measurement of the brass itself that does not take into account a proud primer or cratered primer.

Dumb question but are you zeroing out the calibers after each measurement?

If yes stop you are bumping the shoulder way too much.