• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Advanced Marksmanship Good shooting = What groupsize?

Kenntexx

Private
Minuteman
Jun 10, 2011
Denmark
I just started shooting longrange rifle, after getting my AI AW .308 last week.

I havent done any of that sort before, eventhough i have been shooting a lot and many different types of shooting, for many years.

I keep beating myself up over an average of .6 MOA average in 18mph crosswinds at 200M. I shot in prone with bipod.
I shot 5 groups of 5 and 20 dots of 1" size, and going through all the target data i had an average of .61 MOA according to on-target program.

So my thought is, what is a good group average, how tight does it have to be, to be good shooting?
As i said, i have no experience what so ever of, what is good precision shooting.. ^_^
-Kenneth

Re: Good shooting = What groupsize?

Welcome to the addiction. Your good enough for now and you need to start stretching the legs of the AI. Stop shooting groups and work on making each shot count and execute it perfectly. Since you are new, you should really subscribe to the online lessons here, they will help you more than I can express.

.6 at 200 isn't bad.

How did you know it was 18? One of those gauges? If so, toss it and learn how to read the wind without it. They don't do any good past arms length.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kenntexx</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just started shooting longrange rifle, after getting my AI AW .308 last week.

I havent done any of that sort before, eventhough i have been shooting a lot and many different types of shooting, for many years.

I keep beating myself up over an average of .6 MOA average in 18mph crosswinds at 200M. I shot in prone with bipod.