• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Handloading with Dillon RL500B for 308?

MaverickNH

Private
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2010
Bedford, NH
While I tacked on this question at the bottom of the Reloading 101 sticky, it hasn't gotten any attention so I've posted it here.

I'm new to reloading. Reading the Reloading 101 thread, I get the impression that handloading 308 for precision rifle might not be done right with a unit such as a Dillon RL500B press. Do I gather correctly that the quality is not controlled well enough with such a press to achieve desired load accuracy and precision?

What would be the expected limitations and performance against, say, factory Federal 175 Gold Match BTHP?

Re: Handloading with Dillon RL500B for 308?

Do a search on the name John Whidden.

He's a 3 time NRA long range champion. He loads everything he shoots on a modified dillon. If it's good enough for him, I guarantee it will be good enough for you.

Check out the shellplates he makes for the 550. They will help with alignment and accuracy issues.

The difference between the article Terry points out is that all the competition shooters that I know using progressive presses for rifle loading weigh or throw their charges seperately and drop it into a funnel die.

The dillon powder measure is not used for accurate rifle loads.

I've been using a RL550B for the past 2 years and i agree with lumpy grits....it's the first press ive ever owned and i love it... you just need to keep learning your craft and be specific about what YOU want to achieve... your press wont be what holds you back! your brain will!
smile.gif
the learning never stops!!