• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Help me decide - keep AXSA or sell for custom rifle for PRS

its_sean

Private
Minuteman
Supporter
Aug 7, 2024
Colorado
Hi all, I have an AXSA in 6.5 cm which I absolutely love and have shot some PRS matches with. I’m still a beginner but I’m trying to decide if I keep this or sell it for something below.

Impact 737r in MDT acc elite chassis
- lightest and smoothest bolt lift of the three to keep my on target?

Terminus Zeus in MDT
- I want a quick change barrel system
- heard the bolt lift is heavier than impact

Keep AXSA
- love the quick barrel change
- love the look and ruggedness
- don’t love the hump and balance point for shooting off bags/barricades
- obviously other ergos and support for this rifle are lacking.
- I’ve started adding a lot of weight to try to keep the recoil down so maybe that will be good enough? I’m current at 22lb thinking of even pushing to 23lb.

What are some other pros and cons I’m missing.

Also considering getting a new barrel for axsa, or if I move to custom, going with a different route than 6.5 cm.

I’d like to shoot factory ammo at least for another year or two until I have more free time as I know it’s a bit of a chore. So I’m also having a dilemma on calibers. I shoot 6.5 but I want lower recoil to spot traces and misses better. So I guess my options are staying on 6.5, moving to 6mm cm, or 6 dasher or gt.

6.5 Cm
- tons of factory ammo
- higher recoil so follow up and tracing / spotting misses are harder?
- bigger splash if I do miss so maybe that makes it easier on spotting misses longer?

6mm creedmoor
- lots of factory ammo and always in stock
- less recoil than 6.5 cm
- higher velocity so less barrel life which I’m not too concerned about