• #0001 Limited edition launch patch (only 200 available)

Grab a limited edition patch and use code AMERICA24 for 20% off all merch

Grab your patch

Help with first tripod (manfrotto vs leofoto)

Matt_3479

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 12, 2009
I’m looking for a multipurpose tripod. I am just starting out in 22 prs style comps this up coming year, and would like to be able to use this tripod for that. I shoot long range with cneterfire but never compete. This tripods main purpose will be for hunting/spotting. It will carry my spotting scope during fall deer seasons, and my varmint rifles during late fall/winter predator hunting.

Currently looking at a manfrotto mt055 pro 4 carbon with ball head or leofoto LS-284C+LH30PCL. I didn’t want to spend 1300 on a rrs set up if I don’t end up sticking with the comps. I figured I’m going need 2 tripods eventually if I do stick with it, keep one for spotter and hunting and deck out one for prs. I just wanted to be able to try working with a tripod and testing out all different sides of it before diving into the rrs.

What’s your thoughts?

The only justification for a 4 leg CF tripod is if you hike with it. A 3 leg aluminum will typically be stiffer than a 4 leg CF and not much heavier or longer. I once had a RRS CF tripod and Monopod and they were first class for camera work but less expensive Manfrotto and even Vangard did the same thing for much less $$$.

The only justification for a 4 leg CF tripod is if you hike with it. A 3 leg aluminum will typically be stiffer than a 4 leg CF and not much heavier or longer. I once had a RRS CF tripod and Monopod and they were first class for camera work but less expensive Manfrotto and even Vangard did the same thing for much less $$$.
wouldnt a 4 legged tripod be a quadpod?

Reactions: John_in_WYO