Howa 1500 first build

Cman99

Private
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2019
Hey guys, first post, I am looking at building a Howa 1500 6.5 creedmore. I was looking at the 26 inch heavy barreled action and a Varmint stock from Bell and Carlson stock, trying to keep the total price around a grand. As this is my first build and my first experience with Howa, I figured I better ask opinions and thoughts on the build. Is Howa a good action and what kind of accuracy can I expect? Anything I need to know before I build the rifle?

1st off, Creedmoor!
Howa is a great Japanese action. Smooth, accurate and reliable.
Unfortunately not a ton of aftermarket support for them, it that’s ok if your trying to keep the build price low.

I bought one last summer..great rifle. I am planning on either chopping down the barrel or getting a new barrel for the rifle.

Action is smooth and she shoots great. Can't wait to suppress her, and start some less development

Legacy Sports, the distributor, guarantees one moa with match ammunition.

My two 6.5's both shoot into less than one inch at 200 yards. They are in MDT chassis. You might want to look at the Oryx chassis made by MDT or the KRG Bravo. Both better than the B&C IMHO. You will need to bed the B&C for optimal results. No need to bed a chassis.

Howa magazines are on the short side. The Howa's also have a long reach to the lands. Not a problem with factory ammunition. I stayed with the hinged floorplate on one in a GSR stock for the longer COAL.

I recently bought one off the PX in 223.

I havent loaded for it yet, but the Hornady 75g Black shoots about MOA, as does the Norma TAC 223. Looking to start loading for it soon, but so far it's a nice little rifle.

It's in an MPA BA Lite chassis which is rather fitting, but may be more than you want to spend.

Legacy Sports, the distributor, guarantees one moa with match ammunition.