• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

JP Enterprises low mass .308 bolt/carrier

E5296

Private
Minuteman
Jul 7, 2010
Newbie here. I am in the process of finishing a semi auto .308. DPMS upper/lower, bolt/carrier; Krieger fluted custom 20" 1/12 barrel, VTAC forearm, Harrris bipod, Timney trigger, Magpul PRS, etc.
My goal is to make this rifle as acturate as possible, will the JP Enterprises PSJPBC-4 .308 Low Mass Carrier/bolt combo make a difference? There doesn't seem to be any other options for "high end" bolt carriers/bolts for this platform that I have found. This thing is about $450.00 so I wanted to find out if anyone thought it was worth it.

Re: JP Enterprises low mass .308 bolt/carrier

First, welcome aboard. There is a lot of excellent information to be had here on this forum and I hope you find it useful.

As for your specific questions on the JP low mass carrier setup for the DPMS LR-308 type rifles:

Inherent accuracy benefits...no.

Allowing you to "perceive" less recoil and potentially getting you back on target quicker for follow-up shots and therefore making YOU more accurate...maybe.

Is it worth the additional $150 over and above the $300 DPMS carrier or $100 more than the $350 Fulton carrier...no, not in my opinion (for what that's worth).

The other thing to consider, depending on which DPMS upper you have selected, is that with the JP 308 carrier assembly, you lose the forward assist ability as their carrier is not serrated for the FA to work properly.

Sounds like a nice build-out so far...look forward to seeing/hearing more from you.