• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Lapua Magnum Ammo

Dog Days

Private
Minuteman
May 25, 2018
I'm new to long range shooting and am looking for some sage advice.
I have purchased an 338 LM caliber rifle and will be attending a school that has targets beyond 2000 yards. I have seen one person write that he recommends using 300 grain ammo over 250 grain for shots beyond 1500 yards. Do any of you have an opinion / experience regarding this and if so why.
I will need 200 to 250 rounds for this course and wish to take the correct ammo. Cost and availability is of course a concern. I will purchase the ammo in advance and practice with it prior to going to the course.

Do you reload, and if so, do you have time to experiment and work up a load?
Depending on your barrel twist rate, you can custom load the Warner flatline projectiles to be excellent.

Also the 285gr projectiles are fairly popular.

Let's hope you don't come back several months from now with a story about your trip to the hospital when something went horribly wrong with that rifle......

Hi,

Well this is not going to be what you want to hear, sorry.

I would not waste my time in going to a course with 2000 yard targets with that rifle.
You are way way behind the accuracy and consistency curve from the beginning.
Not to mention the DANGERS of the rifle....they are prone (no pun intended) to blowing up and sending people to the hospital.
Have you checked to see if the course you are planning to attend will even allow that rifle?

Edited to Add:
Semi Auto magnums are notorious for dinging projectile tips during the cycling stage.
Semi Auto magnums are notorious for erratic MVs due to gas systems.
Etc, Etc

Sincerely,
Theis

Reactions: W54/XM-388
Hi,

Those "guarantees" mean nothing in reality.