Laser vs A-Tip Velocity?

Taylorbok

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Nov 16, 2017
Sask, Canada
Curious to hear from others who have shot both.

I have a good load with 390 A-tips and picked up some 375gr Lasers for some testing, Thinking I might be able to make up the BC difference in velocity.
I tried some around the same powder charge I was shooting with the A-tips, they shot well but much to my surprise they were much slower, like 100fps slower using the same charge as 390gr A-tips.

I do know my throat is long for the A-tips so I am going to try seating some out far as I can to see if that makes a difference.

Reactions: cuirc
I can't speak for Lasers because I have no experience with them, but when it comes to monolithics like CX or Barnes what I've seen is that it's often not possible to get the same velocity as a same weight cup&core bullet at the same pressure. Two factors fighting you-- one is density. To get the same weight of bullet with solid copper/alloy construction you have to have more bullet volume, this volume robs case capacity. The 2nd thing is that the engraving forces are usually higher with monolithics because the bullet itself is harder to deform being a solid made of material considerably stronger than lead. There are ways around some of that (bore-rider, driving bands, etc..) but those usually come at a cost either in drag/BC or load length restrictions, etc..

There is definitely room for exceptions, but I think it's safe to say that's generally the case.