• We're live!

We've got the homepage updated and subscriptions are now managed through HideTV. If you run into any bugs please contact @alexj-12 or use our contact form for help!

ENTER HIDETV VIEW THREAD

Suppressors Muzzle device options for TBAC 338 Ultra?

StuartV

Private
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2024
South Carolina
I asked this a couple of months ago and got zero responses. But, I probably muddied the waters before by also asking about another can in the same post. So, trying again only simpler this time.

I just got my first 4 cans, ever, so I'm a newb and my questions may make that obvious.

I have now received my new TBAC 338 Ultra BA Gen 2 from ATF jail. A 338BA muzzle brake came with it.

I intend to build or acquire an 8.6BO, so I guess I'll hold onto the 338BA to put on that.

I also have a 308 and a couple of 223s that I would like to be able to use the 338 can on (my other suppressors all being for pistol or 22LR). None of them have muzzle devices yet.

I'm trying to understand what the best approach is.

I *think* the most straightforward is to get:

30BA brake for my 308 (which is not threaded yet)
30BA brake in 1/2-28 (so, 223 aperture) for my 223s

With the 338BA that I already have, mounted to an 8.6BO, I could move the 338 can freely between them all, correct?

But here's the rub. Numerous people have already told me "you're going to want a dedicated 223 can..."

So, I could see myself getting, maybe, a TBAC Ultra 5 or 7 6.5/223 can at some point to use on my 223s.

If I understand things correctly, the Ultra 5 or 7 can would be a CB mount and could not be used on a BA muzzle device. (correct?)

So, another option seems to be:

30CB brake for my 308
223CB brakes for my 223s
CB2BA adapter to let me use the 338 can on those until such time as I get an Ultra 7 can.

My question about that is that the TBAC website describes the CB2BA adapter as "SEMI-PERMANENTLY CONVERTS A BA SERIES SUPPRESSOR TO ACCEPT THE CB SERIES OF MUZZLE DEVICES."