New Long Distance Shooter

MISMATCH

Private
Minuteman
Oct 8, 2024
Fort Eisenhower, GA
Good evening!

Thank you for allowing me to join the team. I’m a U.S. Army Officer and I have been an expert shot for quite some time now. I have a few questions:

1. I am looking for my very first ELR rifle. I love firing my AR and I have never shot past 300 meters. Call me crazy, but I want to start shooting out to a mile. I’m looking into a .338 Rifle. Is this too much, or should I start out with another rifle at a smaller caliber and get used to shooting out to 1000 yards?

2. I have been looking at scopes. What is the absolute best scope for ELR? I’ve done a ton of research but in my opinion, experience outweighs research. I found Leupold and Burris have really good options between $700-$1400.

Thank you for your time. I look forward to learning from you all.

Cheers,
Mark

Reactions: CSTactical