Rifle Scopes New member....New ?

ironworker21

Private
Minuteman
Dec 22, 2010
Coast to Coast
Mainly the post was to say Hay, new memeber. But i truly do have a ?. Been looking for a new optic for my 300wm. I'm new to scopes, not firearms so take it easy, only used iron till now.

I've narrowed it down to these 3 maufacturers...Premier, USO, and S&B. The Premier in the 5-25 heritage, the USO in the 3.8-22 ergo, and the S&B in the 5-25 PMII. The rifle is for some hunting, and some target. I'm not concerned with weight, I'm kinda a workout freak so a little heavy is fine, and the extra weight would add to the recoil management, as i don't have a break on it yet.

I know, really I don't need those high of magnification's, but it gives me room to not only move it to larger caliber's, but also just room to zoom out and play with location.

Also, this will be basically my last high end piece of glass for a couple years as I plan on not only sending this bad boy to GAP for some work, but also plan on ordering a GAP full build this year, and the Fiance' would totally shit if I added 2 high end scopes to 2 high end rifles in one year...so to keep the troops at bay, this will be it for let's say atleast 1 year...give or take.....

So gentleman....let me have it, no holds barred!

Re: New member....New ?

I would add Hensoldt to the mix as it's on par with the S&B. I would rank them as follows.

Hensoldt
S&B
USO

I wouldn't go for the Premier as they've had a number of issues in the past. Supposedly those issues have been fixed however that is an expensive "let's see".

Just make sure you get mil/mil. You're better off in the long run.

Have owned all you have in your list and would recommend the S&B. I have two of them now and love them. Excellent knobs in the dual turn elevation knob. Reticle I would recommend for the 5-25 would be the P4F also. 5-25 is a good scope power as you can always turn it down but you can't dial up a 15x scope. You will never regret buying the S&B.