• #0001 Limited edition launch patch (only 200 available)

Grab a limited edition patch and use code AMERICA24 for 20% off all merch

Grab your patch

New Rifle Build......need magazine recommendations.

BowChamp

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Apr 2, 2023
United States
I'm having a Rem. 700 ADL short action rebarreled to 6.5 Creedmoor. I'm going to drop it into a MDT ACC Premier Chassis. This rifle will be used for 1000yd. benchrest and some prone shooting. No hunting or lugging through the woods.

This is where I need help.......My understanding is I will be able to use AICS type magazines. I have no experience with or knowledge on this type of magazine.

Who makes a good magazine I will not have trouble with?

Should I get metal or polymer?

Is there a magazine rounds capacity that works better than others?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!!

I've had great service with the Magpul AICS magazines, the Accurate brand and actual AI AICS mags. The big question is if reloading and depending on bullet choice and OAL, the metal mags usually have more internal length. Since you are using the MDT chassis, just use the MDT brand.

Reactions: BowChamp
I've had great service with the Magpul AICS magazines, the Accurate brand and actual AI AICS mags. The big question is if reloading and depending on bullet choice and OAL, the metal mags usually have more internal length. Since you are using the MDT chassis, just use the MDT brand.
I will be reloading. I'll check into the MDT mags.

Thanks!

SIG's Magpul 5 rounder is good (possibly, best) if you are single feeding off the bench.

It has a single-feeding follower that was pretty unique when it was launched, although I'm nort sure if its still exclusive to SIGs branding.
This rifle will be used for 1000yd. benchrest and some prone shooting. No hunting or lugging through the woods.