Night Vision NV helmet setup

alexgunner

Private
Minuteman
Jul 22, 2019
Ok, so I am new to night vision and thermals. Like a previous thread, other than in a SHTF situation, I won’t be using this for anything but for fun around the house, yard, and woods. But I want it to also be something decent for a SHTF situation also. I’d like a at least IIIA helmet setup with NV. Can someone recommend a decent combination of specific items I need to purchase? It doesn’t have to be the top of the line, but I am willing to spend some money on it as long as it’s worth the extra money for the quality. I’m also not sure about actual shelf-life of NV, helmets, etc., so given my application, the longer this setup can last with little maintenance, the better off I am.
Thank you in advance.

Reactions: hypno02
If SHTF is your main concern for ballistic, I would venture to guess you probably don't need it. Now I am all about being prepared even for unlikely situations, but the extra weight on your head/neck won't be worth it unless you need it. Even wearing my non-ballistic helmet for a few hours makes me sweat and feel the weight when running around and shooting.

Team Wendy, Ops Core, M-tek, and Revision are a few to name. You could go with something ballistic like a hard head veterans helmet, but I've also heard from reputable sources that if the bullet doesn't kill you the deformation will. There's no such thing as a nice ballistic helmet for cheap. However, you can get a nice non-ballistic (bump) helmet for usually 50% less than ballistic.

There are so many options out there that it's difficult to name them all. Just pick your helmet flavor and use their accessories for whatever you think you need. Most people have too much shit on their helmets for looks. I try to keep weight off my head as much as possible.

Reactions: TyChappell