Optics on sbr's??

black5.3

Sergeant
Minuteman
Supporter
Jun 1, 2017
NC
I recently decided to add a 1-4x vortex pst to my 300blk sbr because the fastfire3 i had been running for several months left me wanting more. My 300blk pulls several kinds of duty from close range varmints, truck gun, and dinging steel. After using the 1-4x for a little while now i am much happier with it than i was the fastfire3. I shoot just as fast with it at close range as i did with the red dot. It didnt add as much weight to the gun as i thought it would. And now shots out to a couple hundred yards are easy. What do you guys run on sbr's, likes, dislikes.

I like the aimpoint micro rds, light and fast. The big complaint is the glass quality of the first gen. After checking out the 1.5x and 2x Trijicon acogs, I will eventually give one a try, probably the 1.5x circle on post reticle. The glass is so clear, good illumination, and lightweight. I put a trijicon TR-24 1-4x on an 11.5" and I felt it was too heavy and clunky, and it only weighs 13 ounces
(w/o mount). I do have limited arm strength though. If I like the mini acog, I'll probably try to outfit most of my SBR's with them.
It's never easy finding optics to run... imo

Scott

I'm running an Aimpoint T1 on my 300blk SBR, and just a cheapo Truglo red dot on my 556 SBR. Honestly have zero complaints on the truglo, it's super light weight, red and green color choice as well as several reticle options. I've had it for years and it keeps working! Obviously the T1 works great.
But I agree, I have been wanting some magnification.
I have a Sightron SIII 1-7 sitting around, it just feels so big on the SBRs.
8ab0f5eb2ecaec02af9004bb6bc3d7b2.jpg
023c5c55289cdc62ff0e86398ce7e89c.jpg