• We're live!

We've got the homepage updated and subscriptions are now managed through HideTV. If you run into any bugs please contact alexj-12 or use our contact form for help!

ENTER HIDETV VIEW THREAD

Precision AR15 Build Questions

BubbaZeek

Private
Minuteman
Jan 5, 2019
I’m going to start building a precision AR15. This is my first build. Looking to do it in .223 Wylde. Which parts do I need to invest the money into? Is it possible to make it sub moa?

Can't say enough about getting a good barrel; I prefer cut rifling given the choice. Krieger, Satern, etc. I have a Geissele Hi-Speed trigger in my tack drivers, best trigger Iv'e used. While it doesn't do anything for accuracy, I like the JP Ent. FMOS BCG's, super reliable and slick as goose shit even when dry. FF the barrel of course and remember to save some for a good optic, that's gonna be the singular most expensive part probably.

Here’s an example. My 16” Ranier Ultramatch barrel with 77gr OTM match ammo off of a sand bag. I honestly wasn’t even concentrating. The sub MOA capability is there. I can easily shrink that group.

Reactions: ShooterwithNoName
People typically think of a precision rifle as capable of shooting long distance accurately, probably 800+ yards and in a 5.56 and 18" barrel is a bit of a handicap because you will want as much velocity as possible.

In "tactical" terms, an 18" AR is more of a "special purpose rifle".

It all depends on how and what you're going to shoot.

If you're after precision with a gas gun, invest in a quality bolt action rifle.

But seriously, spend more than you think you need to on a barrel. I started my precision shooting with AR's and when i finally got into bolt actions i wanted to kick my own ass. AR's can definitely be precise, but they are a lot more finicky and less forgiving than a bolt action.