• It's Hunting Season: Show Us Your Rack!

Hunting season is finally here and we want to see pictures of your rack! Show us what you've got and we'll throw in a few t-shirts to people that send pics 👀

View thread
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Radio/walkie talkies (Repost)

Awag1000

Interstellar Weapon Systems
Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 17, 2020
Eastern South Carolina
I recently purchased a Beofeng R5-UV pro, because a friend suggested it was a good radio and had a good experience with them. I have no knowledge whatsoever about radios, just picked up the radio cause it was on sale for $20
Where is a good place to start to learn?

Oh boy.
Studying for the license would be a start.

It's really great guide to start with. I have been hunting with my friends in the woods for a long time, but only a couple of months ago we decided to buy walkie-talkies! As it turned out, this is really a very convenient thing, but before you buy a walkie-talkie, I advise everyone to read this guide https://www.walkie-talkie-guide.com/codes-for-walkie-talkies/. Unfortunately, at first, we did not read it and it was quite difficult for us to use the walkie-talkies. This guide is really very useful for any beginner who wants to buy a walkie-talkie for the first time.

Last edited:
Reactions: Awag1000
Start with better friends! You pretty much get what you pay for with radios.

As others said start with a license otherwise all you can do is listen. I passed my tech and general with nothing more than a free app on my iPhone to study. It not a hard test by any means but a little prep time is recommended. After that find a local repeater that you can hit with the limited range of your handheld radio that is active and has scheduled nets. Its a good way to get used to using it properly. Then you can look at other bands and the rigs / antennas to go with them for longer distance communication. The next step up in license is the General which opens up a lot of bands to you.