Narwhal

Private
Minuteman
Feb 4, 2010
Austin, TX
Hi,

I'm new to long range shooting so go easy
smile.gif

I just took my first precision rifle class, shooting out to 1000 yards and had reasonable success. I received a "qual" on the course of fire out to 600 on stationary targets and 1 mph movers.

Anyway, I didn't have a real shooting pack for the class and was just using an old leather soft briefcase for all my stuff. I'll never be LEO or military, I just shoot long range for sport although I might potentially do a match someday after a few more classes (and a lot more aerobic conditioning
smile.gif
)

I think I've decided on the Eberlestock LoDrag X3 lowdrag backpack in black. Is it OK to go with black just to keep it uniform with my other gear or is that an unwise choice? Also, do you know if this backpack can hold a 26.75" wide shooting mat? From the pictures it looks like the mat would have to stick out of the top, but I didn't see any dimensions.

On the topic of rain gear, my instructor in the class mentioned that a simple poncho wasn't adequate rain gear but didn't elaborate and I didn't get a chance to ask him to do so later. What other rain gear products should person taking a precision rifle course or shooting a match consider adding to their kit?

Thanks in advance. I currently shoot a 700P LTR in .308 if it matters.

Re: Rain gear and backpack question

Unless you are trying to blend in the color doesn't really matter. That said I prefer something light like FDE as black tends to be hotter in the sun. I use a TAB Gear shooting mat. Not much padding except where the elbows go and packs up super small. Off the top of my head that mat you want to use wouldn't leave much room for anything else.

Contact Ceylon here on the hide and he can hook you up. Has fantastic customer service to boot!

For rain gear I have a waterproof pant and jacket set. I suppose it depends on how dry you want to be.

tab gear mat -> triad tactical