• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Reloading Tikka T3x 308 - Fires when chambered after bolt lock

Rommel Garcia

Private
Minuteman
Sep 4, 2023
Georgia
New reloader here. Reloading for my Tikka T3x 308. I made sure that before I touched my first brass to reload, I read my Lyman 50th Edition Reloading manual, watched all the YouTube videos on step-by-step reloading, and read a lot on reloading forums. I was able to determine my COAL using the Hornaday OAL Gage and the length of my chamber using the Sinclair Chamber Length Gage. My COAL maxed out at 2.9605". My max chamber length is at 2.0460". This is my first time using a chamber length gage and I tried forcing the brass with the insert to move forward and it was really hard and the bolt was not closing. End up using a vise without damaging the bullet and seated the insert where the bolt closed with some resistance. My brass is Hornady and the bullet is Barnes TTSX BT 168gr. With an FL sized brass, having a case length of 2.0110" I seated a bullet and the COAL was at 2.9095". When I chambered it, it was tight so I backed it down to 2.8805" and I could close it without fighting it but still giving some resistance.