Rifle Scopes Scope moves under recoil: SWFA SS 10x42 &SS Rings

Narwhal

Private
Minuteman
Feb 4, 2010
Austin, TX
Hi,

First off I'm a total novice. This is the first time I've ever tried to mount a scope so I probably did something dumb.

I have an LRB M14 that I've attempted to mount a Super Sniper 10x42 scope on. I bought some Super Sniper "low" picatinny rings to go with it. The scope mount is a basset machine picatinny low if it matters.

I tried to mount the scope as far rearward as I could to get the best eye relief. I have atttached a picture to demonstrate this. The rings are not encroaching on the bell of the objective as mounted.

I managed to get the scope zeroed at 30 yards but it only held there for 5 rounds or so. Then the rounds would begin to wander. Eventually, after 40 or 50 rounds, I looked at the rifle and saw that the scope had slid forward about 2".

When I installed scope into the rings I just hand tightened them with a 3" allen wrench tool, taking care not to over torque the screws. However, I noticed there was still about a 1/8" gap between the bottom and top halves of the scope rings. I attached the scope rings to the rail with a socket wrench, again very snugly but not over doing it.

Anyway, that's the gist of my problem and I'd appreciate any recommendations.

I'm considering going to a gunsmith and having my rings lapped, even though I've read you're not supposed to do that with aluminum rings.

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,

Narwhal

Picture:

scope.jpg

Re: Scope moves under recoil: SWFA SS 10x42 &SS Rings

Thanks...yeah, I guess I should probably just break down and buy the torque wrench before I resort to a gunsmith. I thought I had them pretty tight, and after the scope moved there were white scrape marks on it. I guess I was just too paranoid about damaging the scope by over torquing.