Scope selection

Longgun-308

Private
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2019
I was wondering what everyone is running for scopes on 1000 yard plus rifles. Im looking for something that has the best glass possible. I understand nightforce an vortex have the same glass, from LOW Japan. I plan on shooting past 1400 yards and I’m looking for something that’s clear in in all weather conditions.

Ive been looking at tangent theta, is there glass any better than vortex? And I’ve had some experience with s&b in the marine corps. I like their glass I’m not a huge fan of the functionality of it though. Really great scopes
Have you had a look through the gearlists of King of 1 mile / 2 mile ?

I am a nightforce junkie through and through. I own a beast 5-25, atacr 7-35, nx8 4-32, nxs 12-42. between price point, glass quality, features, reticles, etc. its just what i prefer.

i’ve peered through a decent amount of high end glass (being i live an hour from euro optic)

IMO, you will get to a point where the glass quality gets good enough that i doubt 99% of people could shoot the difference.

best glass possible? probably the new tangent 7-35 (not sure on eta)

personally? for the price tag i’d rather get 2 ATACR 7-35’s in second focal for all out ELR.

i’d suggest finding somewhere you could fondle these scopes and see how you like the reticles, feel of the clicks, and other features. for example, i dont like the vortex razor turrets and how they zero. s&b 5-45? i hate the super thick reticle because of the FFP. the only way i would have known is unless i handled them personally. take these suggestions and go with what feels and looks good to you.

another good option i didnt see mentioned was the new zeiss scopes.

my buddy brought over a lrp s4 4-25 and i was very impressed by the glass clarity, reticle. 160 moa elevation. price point is there too.

good luck with your choice!