Shooters, ranges, locations in Los Angeles.

J.Kubiak

T.G.O.S.
Minuteman
Jun 23, 2020
Los Angeles CA
Hey all! New on here so forgive any mistakes in posting. I’m new to the precision shooting world but learning fast and I’ve outgrown my range (Angeles shooting). I’ve set up targets at 100-200-300 yards which is as far as I can walk them out. I’ve been able to stay MOA even sub MOS and I have no problems hitting all the tiny steel tree targets at 600 yards. What I’m interested in is some place I can set up a target at 400-1000+ yards and preferably some place I can drive the target out and verify progress. let me know if any of you are from the LA area and know of places where this is possible. I’ve reached out to “Desert marksman” however they have a $100 entry fee before you can see the range or know what the procedure is there.

California Tactical Academy has a 1000 yard range (idk what the hours/rules are during COVID). They also run PRS matches that go out to 1000 yards, next one on the 11th.

Pala Range is south of you with steel out to 900 yards.

Reactions: gnochi
California Tactical Academy has a 1000 yard range (idk what the hours/rules are during COVID). They also run PRS matches that go out to 1000 yards, next one on the 11th.

CTA is my preferred range in SoCal. It’s annoying when the cows are at 1000yd but they usually don’t stay too long.

COVID hours are 8am-3pm W-Su; they’re only putting people at half the benches and stuff for social distancing reasons.

Reactions: Mk32784

Yea been to CTA, the 1000 yard range is a 3’ plate 200’ up in the hills. Without a high power telescope and the ability to climb up there I’m really not able to measure or identify groups accurately, that range is no where near the caliber of Angeles. Bathrooms are portable, targets and steel are destroyed, it is barely kept up and they’re charging $40 fee per day compared to the $16 fee at Angeles. Thanks for the info though!