• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Rifle Scopes Steiner M5Xi vs Vortex Razor

forfun

Private
Minuteman
Jul 1, 2011
CA
I'm thinking about getting one of these Steiner 3-15x50 M5xi with an MSR or mil-dot because it seems like great deals out there and an all around good scope for my stock Rem 700.

I'll just be going to my local range to learn how to shoot out to 850. Maybe do a match when I learn how to mil.

Will I regret not having more power? And a xmas style ret? Gen II Razors 4.5-27 with an EBR-2C reticle are around the same price kinda... and it's like so many more features so much more power...

I'm trying to stay in the $1,500-$2,000 range. Any suggestions would be great.

What do you guys think? I'm new to this so please be nice to me. hahaha.

My $0.02 is to buy a razor used here in the px for ~$1650 . You get more than you think you need and they are great scopes. Yeah, they’re heavy. Big deal. Simply cannot be beat at that price point. And with the 27x you don’t NEED a spotting scope, though it’s nice.

Last edited:
Reactions: Statie07
I prefer the Steiner M series over the Vortex. Personally, I think it’s a better scope. But Both are solid scopes though. Either one will work. I have a 17 power (USO) on my 308 and have no problem hitting anything out to 1000 yards.

Reactions: psychosniper
Optics Planet has a deal on a M5xi 5-25 for a little over $2k with coupon code I've been looking at. Might not be the reticle you want though. I have no first hand experience with either although I had a t5xi and it's nice but I felt the glass lacked.

The Steiner is a great scope. The Vortex is a great scope also.