Sudden accuracy issues

5RWill

Optics Fiend
Supporter
Minuteman
Supporter
  • Oct 15, 2009
    Mississippi
    So I'm scratching my head with this one and maybe it's self induced. This is with my XM3. The first groups it ever printed were astounding easily a 1/4 minute group with norma golden target 175gr. Since the first picture I had the flash hider loosen when trying to take the can off. Took it home and intended to torque it back in place with my barrel vice. I was missing my torque driver set so couldn't remove the barreled action from the stock or just didn't have the right hex screw. I decided to torque it down anyway. Since then it has printed groups like below. I'm starting to wonder if I damaged the bedding? I didn't see anything physically but it just has me perplexed. I thought maybe it's just me and I'm out of practice. However printed the 5 shot group in the attachments today with the LMT LM8 and I'm by no means a proficient gas gun guy.

Example A:
    69100174726__A3414DE9-CD56-4C7C-B3F1-5C9D9DCD1A2C.jpg

This was resighted with the norma in the center (horrid) and load development of 168gr TMKs over varget after remounting the flashider, Settled on 45.3gr. I since remounted and timed with the barrel in my barrel vice. Test seating depth today. Should've grouped the norma again but forgot to. The last two pics are setting depth groups I shot today.
    IMG_9041.jpg

IMG_0267.jpg

IMG_0268.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0266.jpeg
      IMG_0266.jpeg
      723.3 KB · Views: 34
    How often was it shooting a 1/4”? Was it just a group or consistently?

Consistent 1/4 moa guns are few and far between. If it was just a group that shot 1/4” especially only 3 shots it may be that those 3 landed in a 1/4” but the gun may be a 1/2 or 3/4 moa gun and the following groups may be a better representation of that

Otherwise remove the stock and retorque the action screws and muzzle device. Also check crown for damage but highly doubt that’s the issue

Reactions: Baron23