• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Gunsmithing Tig Welders?

weazer

Private
Minuteman
Aug 26, 2005
Edgerton, Ohio
Guy's, looking to pick up a decent smaller Tig welder. It does not have to be facny, but I would like to be able to weld aluminum with it. I know that feature jumps up the price of them quite a bit. What are your opinions on brands any better than others for Tig?

Thanks

Re: Tig Welders?

what type of amperage range are you requiring? are you fairly familiar with what is needed? I am a AWS Certified Welding Inspector, if you have any questions feel free to get ahold of me. Dependant upon what welding distributors are around you, I have good ties with most of the bigger ones. There are alot of questions that should be answered before I can give you a fairly accurate idea of cost. For a tig welder prices can range from roughly $1000 and up. You can actually tig weld off of an ac/dc smaw buzz box, if you have the correct hardware.

not much help but more info and I can lead you in the proper direction.

Matt

I too have been looking into getting a TIG welder at home. Every time I go looking I always come back to the Miller Dynasty System specifically the dynasty 200dx.