• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Rifle Scopes Vortex Razor HD vs Viper HS-LR w BORS

SailorDan

Private
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2019
I have a M82A1 that has been sitting waiting for glass and I'm pretty much set on Vortex. I have enjoyed my Vortex products and I've been happy with their price/performance point.

I'm looking at a Viper HS-LR 6-24x50 with a BORS included for a little under $1400.

or

I could save up a little more and get a Razor HD gen2 4.5-27x56 for about $1800 and eventually pick up a kestrel to go with it.

==> Is the Razor HD glass that much better than the Viper?

I'm new to long range shooting and think the BORS might be helpful in getting my feet wet. The M82 shoots minutes of VW - not sure how beneficial higher quality glass will be on it. My goal is to spend more time exploring LR shooting and see how far I can go.

Thoughts?

I have a M82A1 that has been sitting waiting for glass and I'm pretty much set on Vortex. I have enjoyed my Vortex products and I've been happy with their price/performance point.

I'm looking at a Viper HS-LR 6-24x50 with a BORS included for a little under $1400.

or

I could save up a little more and get a Razor HD gen2 4.5-27x56 for about $1800 and eventually pick up a kestrel to go with it.

==> Is the Razor HD glass that much better than the Viper?

I'm new to long range shooting and think the BORS might be helpful in getting my feet wet. The M82 shoots minutes of VW - not sure how beneficial higher quality glass will be on it. My goal is to spend more time exploring LR shooting and see how far I can go.

Thoughts?

The Razor is worth it over the viper in glass and build quality. I’m not super familiar with the BORS system but I don’t see what it could do that a ballistic calculator couldn’t