AR10 168 gr or 175gr ammo??

toshu

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 26, 2011
Arizona
I have a relatively new DPMS LR 308B (18in barrel)that I am working with. I have used 168gr Federal GMM and need some more ammo, that I want to order this weekend to take advantage of sales.

I was going to buy a case of 175gr ammo (SW and Federal) to try but want to know how folks have done with this round in their 1:10 twist gas guns???
Does the heavier round work better at 600 yd or even farther??

Is the velocity of the 175gr too high??

Re: AR10 168 gr or 175gr ammo??

168s are all goofy at 1000.
laugh.gif
Out to about 600, give or take I have total confidence in them.

The reason I asked is because of this thread from a Hide vendor about a "new, special" round for gas guns.....

Copper Creek Gas Gun ammo thread

It did not quite make sense to me, but hey, I am a noob.

So based on what you guys with gas guns are using, I should be switching from 168 to 175s??

Thinking of taking advantage of the good pricing from Palmetto on Federal GMM and the SW 175s this weekend

190s are even better if going long range, 175s are pretty much knee of the curve and hard to beat for an all around load.

190s are 2550 from my 20" AR w/Brux barrel.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FCS</div><div class="ubbcode-body">190s are even better if going long range, 175s are pretty much knee of the curve and hard to beat for an all around load.

190s are 2550 from my 20" AR w/Brux barrel.
</div></div>

Since i do not reload yet, i am trying to stick with good "factory" ammo that is "reasonably" priced. So 190s.....uh are for the future maybe.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: McCourt Munitions LLC</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Define reasonably priced?
</div></div>