• Get 30% off the first 3 months with code HIDE30

Offer valid until 9/23! If you have an annual subscription on Sniper's Hide, subscribe below and you'll be refunded the difference.

Subscribe
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Best off the shelf med kit (IFAK)

NAR is great for pre-made stuff.

My favorite way is to order stuff and build your own to avoid extras that creat weight.
I have kept mine in a bright orange UL bag from Fehu gear in Laramie in the past and have gone to an UL dry bag “just in case” to make sure all things stay dry.

I can tell you what I carry in mine to help.
I alsocarry a basic small first aid kit too. Separate from my IFAK.

My backpack hunt IFAK:

TQx2 - I use CAT brand (no knockoffs)
Quick clot 4 yd z gauze
Hy-fin compact chest seal
4” Kerlix or Bulkee gauze x2
Duct tape 50’ mini roll x2
Trauma shears
Couple other things just for me because I have 20+ yrs experience of use

I also carry a SAM Splint.

Have a way to alert help.
Garmin In Reach is my go to for this.

Know how to use the stuff, it is mostly dead weight without knowledge.

I have done a fair bit if teaching of docs, nurses, paramedics, and lay people and its surprising how many do great with book knowledge/testing and struggle with scenarios with just a little pressure/hysteria applied.