• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site Updates Coming Soon - We're Updating The Homepage!

We've got some exciting changes coming, check the thread below for more info!

VIEW THREAD

Calculating max moa on rail/mount for a 200yrd zero

JefFamous

Private
Minuteman
Mar 7, 2019
If this being my first post doesn't give it away, I am extremely new to long range precision shooting. With that said, if i say something foolish, i apologize. Now that that's out of the way..

I recently purchased a Ruger Precision in 6.5. I outfitted that with a 4-12 Nikon mounted with a Warne one piece. Everything was torqued/leveled as best i could determine using wheeler tools and forum/youtube assistance.

Over the course of two days I shot this setup at a 12" gong starting at 200 yards and moving in 200 yard increments until i started to feel half way competent shooting at 1000 yards.

Now my Nikon was certainly capable at this range, but it was less than optimal as the cross hairs covered a good amount of the steel plate i was shooting at, so of course i had to upgrade..

After some amount of consideration, i settles on a Vortex Golden Eagle with ECR reticle.

So i know that the Vortex GE only has 55MOA of vertical adjustment. I also know that my rifle has a 20moa rail. Now my question.. Is there a way to calculate how much moa I can add via mount to get the optic reasonably close to bottomed out without mounting it and calculating from there? I don't have a 30mm mount currently to test with, and as I more than likely will be buying another Warne one piece, I'm hoping to determine what size will be best with minimal trial and error. (shipping/return times)

Sorry if that was a bit long winded, and thanks for any and all help!