• We're live!

We've got the homepage updated and subscriptions are now managed through HideTV. If you run into any bugs please contact @alexj-12 or use our contact form for help!

ENTER HIDETV VIEW THREAD

Chrono readings and Strelock.

RMS65

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jun 2, 2019
I'm new to chronographing powder burners. I needed to set the chrono about 10-12' from the muzzle to get it to read reliably. Is that close enough I can use those velocities in Strelok?

Second unrelated question. Is it normal for velocities to climb a little bit as the ambient temps increase? Both my 6.5 and 223 went up about 25 to 40 fps as the day went on.

Thanks.
Ron

What kind of chronograph are you using? If this is an optical type chronograph I hate to say it but it's a better comparative tool than it is for actually measuring velocity, and I don't know that a guy can truly ever trust outputs from it without a grain of salt.

Velocity rise with temperature is usually powder dependent. Most rifle powders will increase pressure/velocity with increased temp. Often pistol powders will do the inverse. It can also be related to copper/carbon fouling, too, though. And I guess if you're using an optical chronograph it may also be related to the position and exposure of the sun, unfortunately.

What kind of chronograph are you using? If this is an optical type chronograph I hate to say it but it's a better comparative tool than it is for actually measuring velocity, and I don't know that a guy can truly ever trust outputs from it without a grain of salt.

Velocity rise with temperature is usually powder dependent. Most rifle powders will increase pressure/velocity with increased temp. Often pistol powders will do the inverse. It can also be related to copper/carbon fouling, too, though. And I guess if you're using an optical chronograph it may also be related to the position and exposure of the sun, unfortunately.