FFS vs. Cold Bore

Bigwheels

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Jun 16, 2007
    Anacortes WA
    I've been trying to research the benefits/draw backs of switching to Cold Bore. I have been using FFS loaded in a Dell Axim X30 for many years, & have had great success with it. However I now understand that Cold Bore will calculate some aspects of the trajectory better than FFS. Such as head/tail wind, & up/down angle fire.
    I am also told that with Cold Bore if my cheap PDA dies I would have to buy the program again to replace it while my current FFS (version III I think) is stored on a card, & can be switched easily. In fact I have loaded it on 3 PDA's over the years. I even have it on my PC, laptop, & PDA at the same time.
    So I'm looking for confirmation/repudiation of anything/everything I have read. I'm also hoping that some of the instructors here with experience using both ( Cory, Low Light, etc) will chime in.
    Thanks.

I think if you are using the latest MS stuff, the Surface, Windows Phone, along with a PDA, Coldbore is the hands down winner here.

It now links to every thing and you can SkyDrive your data and move it around between your devices.

I don't think you have to pay again if your PDA dies, I think you can just get a new license activated without paying a second time. Not sure but I can ask them ? That part is a gray area for me.

But lately using the Windows Phone version as well as playing with it on a Surface, it's really good. I have found the wind calls to be spot on compared to using the AB Kestrel. The AB Kestrel elevation was perfect, the wind was off, so I went backing to using the calls from ColdBore.