• Frank's Lesson's Contest

We want to see your skills! Post a video between now and November 1st showing what you've learned from Frank's lessons and 3 people will be selected to win a free shirt. Good luck everyone!

Create a channel Learn more
  • Having trouble using the site?

Contact support

Issue with Forster FLS die?

rybern

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 20, 2018
Alabama
I'm new to precision reloading and setting up a Forster FLS die in 6.5CM. Brass is Hornady once fired through my Bergara. I tumbled it for 1.5 hrs in corn Cobb with a splash of New Finish. Then used Hornady case lubes. Die is set between 1/8-1/4 turn past bottom of stroke. First case came out fine but the next three have dimples at the neck.
20200717_061918.jpg

I ran a brush inside the die and then a wet patch and tried again. Two more cases came out dimpled.... one of them even worse than pictured above. Then I backed off the die to where it's not bumping the neck back and it does fine.

What might I be doing wrong?

The top of my bench is flexing down when I size. Could this be part of it? The flexing causes the motion to not be one smooth motion. I intend to make a riser like I have done with my other presses.

Here's my set up. I've been reloading on a SDB and 550(223) for quite a few years but I've had my 223 brass processed.
20200717_062047.jpg

Last edited:
I always lube my shoulders because I spray lube as well.

It could be too much lube... or it could be just simply not allowing enough time for it to dry and for the nonlube part to evaporate off. Let it sit for 15 minutes where it can breath and air can pass over it and then try again.
Though at this point they may be fine. If they are still coming out like this then you have too much.

Reactions: supercorndogs