• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site Updates Coming Soon - We're Updating The Homepage!

We've got some exciting changes coming, check the thread below for more info!

VIEW THREAD

Private
Minuteman
Jan 17, 2011
Hello. Newbie here.

I have what is probably a basic question about moa adjustment.
My scope is a 1/4 moa and I know that 4 clicks moves the impact 1 inch at 100 yards, but is that true for, say 400 yards?

If I want to impact one inch higher at 400 yards is it still four clicks, or do I need to multiply yardage x 4 and adjust 16 clicks?

Thanks!

Re: MOA adjust

MOA is an angular measurement therefore the distance the impact is moved by each 1/4 MOA "Click" increases in direct proportion to the distance.

At 400 yards each click will move the impact approximately 1 inch...at 800 yards each click will move the impact approximately 2 inches....and back at 200 yards, it will be approxiamtely 1/2"... etc., etc.

That pretty much explained it just remember 1 moa =1 inch at 100 yards and at 200 yards 1 moa = 2 inches and so on.

Here's a shocker, you may discover, at some point, when and if you learn enough about marksmanship to shoot a group with zero displacement, that the 1/4 minute value of your sight, assuming it is 1/4 minute value, is not going to get you a pinwheel X after you've adjusted it; but, instead overshoots the X. Won't you be pleased when that day comes.

1 MOA is actually 1.047" at 100 yards. So, 1 MOA at 400 yards is exactly 4.188" at 400 yards. It's close enough to get you there at 400, but further out, you need to account for that extra .047 of an inch!

To illustrate that point with numbers, assume that a load drops 380 inches at 1000 yards, a number that's not far off for a .308 Winchester.